History of the Worcester District Medical Society Award Recipients

Dr. A. Jane Fitzpatrick Community Service Award

This award was established by WDMS to commemorate the life-long contributions and exemplary efforts of Dr. Fitzpatrick. The award recognizes a member of the heath care community for contributions beyond professional duties to improve the health and well-being of others.

Recipients

		Recipients	
Dr. Richard Sacra	2024		
Dr. Bruce Karlin	2023		
Dr. James Ledwith	2022	Dr. Lucy Candib	2006
Dr. Kavita Babu	2021	Dr. George Abraham	2005
Dr. John Broach	2020	Dr. Matthew Collins	2004
Dr. William Muller	2019	Dr. John Riordan	2003
Dr. Erik Garcia	2018	Dr. H. Brownell Wheeler	2002
Dr. Nandana Kansra	2017	Dr. Richard Aghababian	2001
Dr. Michael Hirsh	2016	Dr. Jane Lochrie	2000
Dr. Louis Fazen, III	2015	Dr. Arthur Pappas	1999
Dr. David Kim	2014	Dr. Morris Spierer	1998
Dr. W. Peter Metz	2013	Dr. Paul Hart	1997
Dr. Katherine Barnard	2012	Dr. S. Ram Upadhyay	1996
Dr. Hugh Silk	2011	Dr. Samuel Pickens	1995
Dr. Herbert Dean	2010	Dr. Randy Wertheimer	1994
Dr. Michele Pici	2009	Dr. Burte Guterman	1993
Dr. James Walsh	2008	Dr. Joseph DiFranza	1992
Dr. Wayne Glazier	2007	Dr. Harvey Clermont	1991

WDMS Career Achievement Award

This award was established to honor a WDMS Member who has demonstrated compassion and dedication to the medical needs of patients and or the public and has made significant contributions to the practice of medicine

Recipients

Chancellor Michael Collins, MD	2024		
Dr. Joel Popkin	2023		
Dr. Hugh Fulmer	2022	Dr. Dennis Dimitri	2010
Dr. Thomas Halpin	2021	Dr. Edward Amaral	2009
Dr. Jeffrey Geller	2020	Dr. Aaron Lazare	2008
Dr. Lucy Candib	2019	Dr. Guenter Spanknebel	2007
Dr. Daniel Lasser	2018	Dr. Francis Bednarek	2006
Dr. Giles Whalen	2017	Dr. Mattie Castiel	2005
Dr. Alan Albert	2016	Dr. J. Barry Hanshaw	2004
Dr. Michele Pugnaire	2015	Dr. Anthony Esposito	2003
Dr. Stephen Earls	2014	Dr. Dan O'Donnell	2002
Dr. Stephen Tosi	2013	Dr. John Massarelli	2001
Dr. Robert Yood	2012	Dr. Leonard Morse	2000
Dr. Lynda Young	2011	Dr. Arnold Gurwitz	1999

Community Clinician of the Year Award

The Community Clinician of the Year Award was adopted at the Massachusetts Medical Society Interim House of Delegates meeting in November 1998. It was established to recognize a practitioner from each district medical society who has made significant contributions to patients and the community. Each district is encouraged to identify one deserving physician each year It is strongly recommended that recipients be members of the Society, though it is not a prerequisite. Districts are not required to submit a nomination

Recipients

	2025		
Dr. Kathryn Edmiston	2024	Dr. Joel Popkin	2011
Dr. Manjul Shukla	2023	Dr. James Broadhurst	2010
Dr. June O'Connor	2022	Dr. Linda Sagor	2009
Dr. Nancy Detora	2021	Dr. Sahdev Passey	2008
Dr. Timothy Hopkins	2020	Dr. Mary Costanza	2007
Dr. Philip Bolduc	2019	Dr. Michael Hirsh	2006
Dr. Francisco Gil	2018	Dr. Robert Cavanaugh	2005
Dr. Sara Shields	2017	Dr. Marie Hobart	2004
Dr. Warren Ferguson	2016	Dr. Robert Bessette	2003
Dr. Matilde Castiel	2015	Dr. Francis Dufault	2002
Dr. Annie Abraham	2014	Dr. Erik Garcia	2001
Dr. Marianne Manno	2013	Dr. Harvey Clermont	2000
Dr. Marshal Katzen	2012	Dr. Morris Spierer	1999

President's Award

This is a special award recognizing an individual for their extraordinary leadership, contributions and commitment to the health and wellbeing of our community and the profession of medicine.

Recipients

Dr. Stephen Erban	2024
Dr. Robert Finberg (Posthumously)	2022
City Manager Edward Augustus	2021
Dr. Michael Hirsh	2021
Mayor Joseph Petty	2021
Dr. Edward Amaral	2019
Dr. Julia Johnson	2017
Dr. James Broadhurst	2013
Dr. Leonard Morse	2009
Dr. Peter Schneider	2005
Dr. David Spodick	2004
Dr. Guido Manjo	2002
Dr Audrey Kurlan-Marcy	2000
Ms. Joyce Cariglia	1998

Editor's Award

(formerly known as the Wisteria Award)

This special award recognizes Editors for their outstanding contributions to the Societies publication of Worcester Medicine, formerly known as Worcester Medical News.

Recipients

Dr. Robert Sorrenti	2022
Peter Martin, Esq.	2021
Dr. Paul Steen	2020
Michael Malloy, PharmD	2008
Dr. Robert Sorrenti	2008
Dr. John Paul Lock	1995
Dr. James Hurowitz	1992
Dr. Jack Ansell	1990
Dr. Robert Harper	1988
Dr. Jacob Brem	1986
Dr. Robert Bain	1985
Dr. John Massarelli	1983
Dr. Arthur Ward	1982
Dr. Sterling Garrard	1981
Dr. H. Martin Deranian	1980
Dr. Leonard Morse	1979
Dr. Charles Brink, II	1978
Dr. Joseph Lundy	1977
Dr. Samuel Bachrach	1976
Dr. Robert Phaneuf	1975
Dr. Ralph Monroe	1974

The Worcester Medical Library Medical Student Achievement Award

This award is an achievement award based on students' merit and accomplishments in serving the WDMS and broader Massachusetts community. It is not based on financial need and is intended to recognize the achievements of UMass Chan medical students irrespective of their legal residency (Must be a WDMS Student Member).

Recipients

Stephanie Choi	2024
Vanya Zvonar	2022
Mina Botros	2023